Meet Marang Studios…

1) What is it that you make? Why? How Did you get Started doing it?

“My name is Angela Pennock and I am the creator and designer behind Marang Studios. I create eco friendly fashion accessories, jewelry and home decor mostly from old t-shirts and reclaimed fabrics. I have, since college, been using materials that are headed to the trash or dump. I began using magazines to make elaborate paper collages and have always worked with fabrics on the side. I also love gardening and have always wanted to live somewhere that I could garden year-round. But until then, I will create my own garden, full of color, with what I have at hand. I started making my Carnation Flower Pins almost 4 years ago now. Since then, I have expanded my pins and brooches from Carnations to Chrysanthemums, Forget-Me-Nots and abstract flowers. I don’t get rid of any of the scraps that I cut from the shirts, so I have the hems of all the shirts I have ever cut from. I started making the Rosettes from the hems of the t-shirts and just love them! I also make yarn from old t-shirts and then crochet them into bowls. It’s such a thrill to know where the materials had started, as old t-shirts, and to see what you can make with them! The shirts are fun and versatile and the colors are endless! I have always felt a sense of responsibility to be more eco friendly and this has been my way of contributing and doing my part. Along with using old t-shirts and reclaimed/vintage fabrics, I use cereal, pasta and pizza boxes as cards to display my pins and brooches on. I also reuse bubble mailers from previous shipments. Along with being a member of the New Mexy Team, I am also a member of the Eco Etsy Team. ”

2) What is it that drives you to create? Have you always been an artist/crafter?

“Art and creating have always been a huge part of my life. My mother and both Grandmother’s are quilters and seamstresses, and my Grandfather was a woodworker. It was natural to me to follow in their footsteps. I attended the College for Creative Studies in Detroit, MI and have my Bachelors in Fine Art. I now live in Santa Fe, NM which is one of the top three cities in the U.S. art market. I work at an established fine art gallery, so I am surrounded constantly by amazing art work. It makes me want to run home and keep creating, it’s all such an inspiration.”

3) What are your plans for your etsy business-and what do you hope it will do for you in 2011?

“In January I actually closed my original Etsy shop Marang97 and opened Marang Studios. I want to continue branding Marang Studios, blogging and increasing awareness of my creations and my Etsy shop. I plan to broaden the home decor and fine art sections of my shop. I am hoping that I can use my Etsy shop as a part time (hopefully full time) job and be able to cut back my 9-5. I have plans for new designs, new flowers, and tons more eco goodness!”
Find me at:
Etsy – http://www.etsy.com/shop/MarangStudios
Blog – http://marangsmusings.blogspot.com
Facebookhttp://www.facebook.com/MarangStudios
Twitter http://twitter.com/Marang_Studios

‘MarangStudios’ by nomadcraftsetc

$15.00

$15.00

$10.00

$20.00

$12.00

$20.00

$20.00

$15.00

$12.00

$10.00

$15.00

$10.00

$10.00

$10.00

$10.00

$10.00

Treasury tool is sponsored by Lazzia.com A/B image testing.

Leave a Reply

