DIY with Andrea: Pebeo Planter

Happy Wednesday!

And you know what Wednesday means… A new DIY.

I was at a loss this week; I didn’t know what to do as the DIY. So I rummaged through my supplies and came across an old mug and some Pebeo Porcelaine paints from last year’s Christmas project.

As it turns out, going through all of the stuff you have accumulated can be the best way to be inspired. Because I decided to make a planter. A painted planter.

If you haven’t heard of Pebeo paints before, let me tell you they are awesome. They sell a line of paint for painting on glass, and another for porcelain, so you can customize nearly anything!  (All of the links I provided send you toDick Blick art supply store, but if you would rather run out and buy materials right away, they sell them atMichaels.)

So on to crafting…

I first washed and dried the mug and then wiped it off with some white vinegar.

Then I decided to paint a really loose/unplanned design on my mug. The cool thing about the paints is that they can be mixed like any other paint to make different colors and can be washed off with water. I did a couple of layers to deepen the colors.

Then, I got out my pens to draw lines on the mug. If you go the pen route, make sure you store them horizontally and always cap them when not in use. Even when you are drawing with them, if you put them down for a second, cap ’em. They will dry out very quickly otherwise.

When you are done doodling let your work dry for 24 hours.

After 24 hours, place your work in a cool oven. Set the oven to 350* F and bake the paint on for 40 minutes. Let it cool in the oven.

And then you can do with it as you will. I put a tiny Sage plant in there. Fingers crossed I keep it alive…

AS ALWAYS CLIPART FROM PUGLYPIXEL

Leave a Reply

