DIY with Andrea: Paper Mache Vase

Happy Belated Mother’s Day!

What did you do for your Mama? Something special, right? Cause you know she deserves it.

I did this.

I was inspired by this tutorial on Etsy, but I chose to use paper mache (one of my Faves) rather than joint compound among other things.

And I like how it turned out. It kind of reminds me of a barnacle.

So take a plastic bottle, and decide how tall you want your vase. Measure up from the bottom, and cut off the top.

Use heavy weighted paper to make the “petals”. To make mine to the correct size,  I used a tape measure to visualize the curve I wanted and to measure the length with turned out to be 7″. I marked 7″ on my paper, and then made note of the halfway point (3.5″). I drew a curve from the top of the 7″ to the bottom, making sure the widest point was at the 3.5″ mark. That became my template.

It sounds more complicated than it is.

I cut out about 10 or so petals from that template and then glued them on the top and bottom of my cut bottle with hot glue.

I then wrapped it in masking tape to give it extra body and to further develop the shape.

I paper mached it. I did three layer of paper mache. Remember to let them dry in between applications. After the final layer, I sanded the vase and applied a layer of mod podge to seal it.

Here is a paper mache recipe that always works for me.

To paint it I decided I wanted a lot of texture, so I mixed sand with craft acrylic paint and stirred it up. It is easier to dab this on than to paint it, and it is awful for paintbrushes, but it is a cool effect.

When it was dry, I brushed on another layer of mod podge for sheen and to keep the sand from flaking off.

And then….

It was time for flowers.

My Mama loved it.

It should last a while too. Just use common sense when you wash it. Rinse it out, but don’t let it soak in water. And absolutely don’t put it in the dishwasher.

Isn’t that a far cry form the plastic bottle it once was?

Until next time friends:)

AS ALWAYS CLIPART FROM PUGLYPIXEL

Leave a Reply

