DIY with Andrea: Chocolate Dipped Lovliness

Hello Everyone! I hope your weekend was wonderful.

Oh, and Happy Belated Earth Day! I had completely forgotten that Earth Day was last Friday. Although, everyday is Earth Day to me. šŸ™‚ How cheesy is that?

But oh so true.

Anyway…

It is DIY time.

So I started a diet recently. Ok, I hate that word. And while it has been successful thus far, the other day I found myself drooling over all of the pretty pretty food pictures onĀ TastespottingĀ (a foodie five faves is coming up this week on my blog).Ā Ā So after a lot of wasted time staring at perfectly stacked pancakes, divinely rich hot chocolates, and cupcakes with luscious frostings, I decided to make myself something tasty.

Don’t worry. I shared most of what I made.

So here are two different treats that I love to make.

Chocolate Dipped Candied Oranges

Cut the peels of of some oranges and slice into strips. Blanch the peels in boiling water once or twice to remove any bitterness.

Simmer the peels in simple syrup for 30 minutes. To make the simple syrup combine equal amounts of sugar and water in a pot over medium heat. Stir until sugar dissolves completely.

Remove the peels from the simple syrup and place on a wire rack. I don’t have a wire rack so I put the candied peels on a foil lined cookie sheet. Place them in the oven at 150*F. Check them every half an hour. You want them to dry, soft and no longer be sticky, but not hard. This takes somewhere around 2 hours.

When they are done, melt some chocolate. You can do this in a double broiler, but I think its easier to melt it in the microwave. I put chocolate chips in the microwave for 45 seconds. Stir. Then return it to the microwave for 20 seconds. Stir. Another 20 seconds. Stir. I repeat that until it is melty and smooth.

Dip the orange peels in the chocolate. And let harden (either in the freezer or on the counter). And Yum Yum Yum.

Chocolate Dipped Gingersnaps

So this couldn’t be easier. I chopped up some candied ginger, and melted some chocolate in the microwave.

Then I dipped my gingersnaps in the chocolate, placed them on a foil covered cookie sheet, and placed a few pieces of the chopped ginger on the chocolate covered cookie.

Let dry (either in the freezer or on the counter).

Super duper tasty!

Chocolate Dipped Candied Orange Peels adapted fromĀ Smitten Kitchen.

Chocolate Dipped Gingersnaps adapted fromĀ Eating Well.

AS ALWAYS CLIPART FROMĀ PUGLYPIXEL

Leave a Reply

