DIY with Andrea: Easter Egg Fail

Hello Everyone! It is me Andrea again. And I am back with a DIY.

And it WAS going to be awesome. I was going to dye Easter eggs with all natural dyes. I had all of these really intricate designs cut meticulously out of masking tape. They were going to be the prettiest eggs I had ever decorated.

But I forgot to get the ingredients for natural dyes.

And then my intricate designs cut from masking tape, didn’t stick to the eggs.

I was heartbroken.

On to plan B.

When-All-Else-Fails/In-the-Nick-of-Time-Easter-Eggs:

So I took my design-repellent eggs, and covered them in masking tape that I tore into thinner strips. I made sure the edges were pressed down as well as possible. You don’t want any dye seeping in.

When I had taped them up to my hearts content, I mixed the dye. I used food coloring instead of say beet juice, grape juice, blah, blah, blah (here’s a list of fruits, veggies and spices you can use to dye your eggs), but it worked just fine.

The ratio is: 1/2 cup boiling water + 1 teaspoon white vinegar + as many drops of food coloring you desire. It makes a pretty strong dye. I let mine “steep” for 10 minutes.

When they were done, I took them out of the dye, one-by-one, and wiped off the excess dye with a paper towel. If you do this, you don’t get the irritating dark circle of dye on the bottom from where the egg sat.

I carefully peeled the masking tape off the eggs, and TA DA! I was thinking it might be really interesting to dye the egg all one color, then mask of bits and dye it again. I think if you do that though, you have to start with the lightest color first…..

I don’t know.

But I do like the way they turned out. The colors are deep and they aren’t exactly your run-of-the-mill Easter Eggs.

Zeus, one of my kitties, seemed to like them too…

Plus, he can sub as our bunny on Easter.

Well, I hope that got you motivated to decorate some eggs for Easter. And then make some egg salad. 🙂

Have a wonderful day!

One response to “DIY with Andrea: Easter Egg Fail

  1. I absolutely love how they turned out! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

