An Interview with humade….

1) What is it that you make? Why? How did you get started doing it?

“I make all sorts of stuff, but these days mostly I make art. I stain paper with coffee, smear graphite all over, mix colors of paint, glue and cut and erase, I have pencils and brushes and paint taking over my shelves… you know, that sort of art. I like drawing nouns, representational things, and I think a lot about contrasting things, things that make me laugh, things I would want to see, or things I have seen.

I’m not so unique in my family, everyone did something creative and independent, so I guess it makes sense I ended up doing what I do. I’ve made a lot of art throughout my life, got my degree in art (printmaking), and after a few jobs slightly related to my degree, I’m back to making my art and creating. Wherever it is that I am today, it has been many sketchbook pages, sheets of printmaking paper and canvases in the making. ”

2) What is it that drives you to create? Have you always been an artist/crafter?

“I’ve always been making something or another as long as I can remember. Looking back I see time marked by both botched and successful experiments in sewing, painting, weaving, framing, baking, printing, hot gluing… you name it. I currently believe that you could narrow down my obsession with making stuff to two main driving forces; I really like working with my hands and I am hooked on the element of surprise involved. I like making something I can hold, something tangible and looking at it at the end of the day and saying to myself, “I did that today, I have something to show for the day.”. I can have this vision in my head of what I want to make, but it never quite ends up like I pictured and it captivates me that I never know what I’m going to get. It keeps me curious and keeps me drawing. ”

3) What are your plans for your etsy business – and what do you hope it will do for you in 2011?

“I’ve spent the past couple years really focused on my other Etsy project, hu.made, and doing a lot of sewing, but I’m shifting focus right now back towards my art and I’m excited to see where it can take me when I’m devoting time to it. Shortly, I’d like to have a larger selection of archival prints and work towards getting my hands on some printing equipment, digital and old school hand-pulled. And long term, ummm, I’m still working on that one but for now I’m open to the possibilities. I have a website for my art: http://www.cschwathe.com and you could put a link to my other etsy store if you want: http://www.humade.etsy.com

‘humade’ by nomadcraftsetc

 

$48.00
 

$60.00
 

$21.00
 

$21.00
 

$81.00
 

$25.00
 

$52.00
 

$27.00
 

$21.00
 

$36.00
 

$63.00
 

$15.00
 

$24.00
 

$7.50
 

$51.00
 

$31.00

Treasury tool is sponsored by Lazzia.com A/B image testing.

Leave a Reply

