Meet thefuzzymonkey…

1. What is it that you make? Why? How Did you get Started doing it?

“I make small felted wool bowls. I taught myself how to knit about 6 years ago and quickly became obsessed with it. I would knit while watching tv, while reading a book…pretty much any time that my hands were free and I had a few minutes I would pick up my needles and start knitting. When I had my son almost three years ago, however, I had almost no free time anymore, and the scarf projects that I had been working on began taking months to complete instead of a weekend. I wanted to knit smaller things so I could still get the satisfaction of a finished project (I can’t stand leaving things unfinished!) and decided to make felted wool bowls. Plus, felting was lots of fun to do – it kind of seems like magic when you throw a knitted hat-like object in the washing machine and in a short time it turns into a sturdy little bowl half the size of what you knitted.”

2. What is it that drives you to create? Have you always been an artist/crafter?

“I have always loved making things. When I was small, my mom would encourage me and my siblings to create. We made all sorts of things, and I even sold some at the craft fairs that my mom participated in. I would make pompom caterpillars when I was really little, and later on I would knot friendship bracelets out of embroidery floss. We dabbled in papier mache, jewelry making, woodworking, leather; pretty much anything crafty was experimented with at some point when I was small.

My grandmother was an art teacher and is an amazing painter, my mom is currently finishing up a degree in art education and is a talented seamstress (you can see some of her handiwork at her etsy shop here: www.etsy.com/people/pigglyandpebbles), my sister is a fantastic painter (she also has an etsy shop : www.etsy.com/people/trishafern , where she sells her knitted items), and my brother is an architect, so I guess you can say it is in my blood.”

3.What are your plans for your etsy business-and what do you hope it will do for you in 2011?

“I don’t have any grand plans for my Etsy shop in the near future – I am taking a few years off from my profession as a research scientist to be an at-home mom to my two young kids and don’t have much free time to build my Etsy business. I have so many ideas in my head and would love to have more time to work on them, but realistically do not see that happening any time soon. I am so grateful that Etsy exists because it gives me the opportunity to make what I love and to actually sell it too!”

‘thefuzzymonkey’ by nomadcraftsetc

 

$23.00
 

$17.00
 

$17.00
 

$17.00
 

$21.00
 

$17.00
 

$70.00
 

$17.00
 

$17.00
 

$17.00
 

$17.00
 

$17.00
 

$25.00
 

$17.00
 

$17.00
 

$19.00

Treasury tool is sponsored by Lazzia.com A/B image testing.

Leave a Reply

